Illinois History Research Guide
Search the library catalog for print and e-books.
Following are some selected books, magazines and journals that may be good starting points for your research and can be found in library's collection. Click on a book's title to view the catalog record.
- Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois -- The history of Chicago and Cook County, with biographies. REF F547.C7 B3 (Reference)
- Chicago Encyclopedia -- REF F548.3 .E53 2004
- Chicago neighborhoods and suburbs : a historical guide -- F548.18 .K43 2008
- The hoofs and guns of the storm: Chicago's Civil War connections -- F548.18 .B46 2003
- Hollywood on Lake Michigan: 100 years of Chicago & the movies -- PN1993.5.U74 B47 1998
- Illinois: A Descriptive and Historical Guide -- F539.3 .I275 1974 Compiled and written by the Federal Writer's Project of the Work Projects Administration for the State of Illinois. The library has both the original 1939 version and the 1951 revised edition.
- Illinois Facts -- REF F521 .I44 (Reference) "A comprehensive look at Illinois today, county by county."
- Chicago Landmarks, 1980 -- REF F548.37 .C693 1980 Documentation of the landmarks of Chicago, as designated by the City Council of Chicago. Includes index.
- Brevet's Illinois Historical Markers and Sites -- REF F542 .B73 and Circulating F542 .B73 copies are available.
- Directory of Illinois Museums -- REF AM12.I3 D57 2006 Includes historical, cultural, and scientific agencies.
- Illinois Heritage-- A publication of the Illinois State Historical Society. Fall 1997 through the current issue.
- Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society Print or Online -- Spring 1953 through the current issue.
- Chicago History -- A publication of the Chicago Historical Society. Fall 1945 through the current issue.
Books on Landmarks and Historical Sites
Magazines and Journals
The library offers history specific databases and general academic databases that contain articles from historical journals. Try searching any of the following:
- Academic Search Complete - Academic, news, popular, and trade publications covering all topics.
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences - Scholarly articles across many subjects. Mainly archival articles from two years ago and older. Use the "narrow by discipline" option and choose the history subject area.
- History Study Center - Primary and secondary documents for history research.
- Chicago Tribune Historical - Full coverage from 1849 to 1986 (see Chicago Tribune database for 1985-present)
Illinois History Web Sites
- Illinois Historic Preservation Agency
- Illinois State Archives -- The Illinois State Archives serves by law as the depository of public records of Illinois state and local governmental agencies which possess permanent administrative, legal, or historical research values. Its collections do not include manuscript, newspaper, or other nonofficial sources. Includes Descriptive Inventories of the Archives' Holdings and online resources such as select Lincoln documents, the Database of Illinois Servitude and Emancipation Records and other online Illinois genealogical databases.
- Illinois History Resource Page -- Illinois State Historical Society; using the left navigation menu go to the Links page and then use the hyperlink for the Illinois History Resource Page. This page is maintained by Mark Sorenson of the Illinois State Archives, this site includes links to a wide range of current and historical Illinois resources, including educational, historical and cultural institutions. Includes Illinois Native Americans, women, labor, maps, chronologies, customs, vital statistics, and more.
- "Land of Lincoln" -- llinois' state slogan
- Lincoln's Home in Springfield -- National Park Service
- Abraham Lincoln Online
- A Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
- The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum -- the official site of The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum; maintained by the State of Illinois
- Lincoln Documents Online-- llinois State Archives
- Mr. Lincoln's Virtual Library -- Library of Congress
- Abraham Lincoln Digitization Project -- Lincoln/Net presents historical materials from Abraham Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861).
- Abraham Lincoln: A Resource Guide - Library of Congress web guide of resources for Abraham Lincoln
Chicago History Web Sites
- Chicago History Museum
- Chicago City of the Century -- Companion site for the PBS "American Experience" show on Chicago. Includes maps, photographs, video, trivia quiz, teacher's guide, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago -- Thousands of historical resources including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers.
- Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933 -- From the Library of Congress in collaboration with the Chicago Historical Society. Over 55,000 images of urban life taken between 1902 and 1933 by photographers employed by the Chicago Daily News. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
- Forgotten Chicago - An organization who's goal is to discover and document little known elements of Chicago’s infrastructure, architecture, neighborhoods and general cityscape, whether existing or historical.
Other Regional Sites
Ask a Librarian for more help.
Spring 2020 LMS