On this Page

LGBTQ Research and Resource Guide

Research and Data

LGBTQ Subject Headings: These subject headings are great for generating topics and keywords, but can also be used for searching academic databases by subject (a focused search).

LGBTdata.com: Clearinghouse for datasets pertaining to gender and sexual minorities.

Center for Population Research in LGBT Health: Clearinghouse for datasets pertaining to health issues concerning gender and sexuality minorities.

Movement Advancement Project: MAP is an independent think tank that provides research and analysis that focused on three primary areas: Policy and Issue analysis, LGBT Movement Overviews, and Effective Messaging.

Archives

Lesbian Herstory Archives: The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives.

LGBT Religious Archives Network: The LGBT Religious Archives Network seeks to preserve the history and encourage the scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) religious movements around the world.

NYPL Digital Gallery | LGBT and HIV/AIDS Activist Collections: This collection documents the generations of activists in the United States who fought for civil rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis.

Against Equality: Against Equality is an archive of writings that use critical thinking and scholarship to assess mainstream LGBT politics>

Local Archives:

Gerber/Hart Library and Archives: Located on Chicago's northside, Gerber/Hart documents and preserves Chicago and the greater Midwest’s LGBTQ history.

Leather Archives & Museum: Located on Chicago's northside, LA&M has a mission to "The compilation, preservation and maintenance of leather lifestyle and related lifestyles [including but not limited to the Gay and Lesbian communities], history, archives and memorabilia for historical, educational and research purposes."

Moraine Valley Library Resources

Search the following links by using the LGBTQ Subject Headings to find documentaries, memoirs, academic books and journal articles, news, pop culture magazines, and other information sources.

Library Catalog: Most of the resources here will be physical items (books, dvds, magazines) at the MVCC library, but e-books, streaming video, and online government documents are also included.

SIRS Researcher: Often provides a topic overview, along with full-text magazine and news articles. Great place to start research to get familiar with a topic.

SocINDEX: Sociology Index covers topics on culture, society, race, demographics and related fields. Good resource for academic, peer-reviewed journal articles.

PsycArticles: Contains scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals on: psychology, emotions, mental processes, social relationships, mental disorders, personal development, and behaviors.

Academic Search Complete: Academic, news, popular, and trade publications covering all topics.

Ask a Librarian for Help: Still unsure where to start your research or not finding what you're looking for? A librarian is always happy to help!

LGBT Terms and Definitions: Although this list is not exhaustive, it may be a good starting point for best usage of terminology as you research, write about, and discuss LGBT issues.

MVCC Campus Resources

GASP! The GASP! club educates about gender and sexual minorities, promotes and provides safe space for campus community, and challenges Moraine Valley to adopt attitudes and policies of tolerance and acceptance towards all individuals. Take a look at their resource page (Moraine Valley login required).

Safe Zone: Safe Zone training allows Moraine Valley individuals to become advocates for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender people. A Safe Zone member provides a place for LGBT students, faculty, and staff to be who they are without fear of hatred or criticism. Safe Zone members can be identified by the certificate with a rainbow triangle displayed by their office. LGBT awareness is part of diversity, yet equal access to all students, faculty, and staff means that “individuals are not just tolerated but valued.”

MVCC Human Rights Statement Non-Discrimination and Human Rights Statement: It is the policy of Moraine Valley Community College not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, age, sex, religion, national or ethnic origin, disability, creed, ancestry, marital status, sexual orientation, arrest record, military status or unfavorable military discharge, citizenship status, or other legally protected characteristics or conduct in its educational programs, activities or employment practices. Such discrimination is prohibited by Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act, Title IX of the Educational Amendments, Sections 503 and 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1974, the Age Discrimination Acts of 1974 and 1975, and other federal and state statutes and regulations. Inquiries concerning application of Title IX may be referred to the Vice President of Student Development, (708) 974-5209, 9000 W. College Pkwy., Palos Hills, IL 60465. Other inquiries concerning the application of other federal or state laws may be directed to the Director of Human Resources, (708) 974-5704, 9000 W. College Pkwy., Palos Hills, IL 60465.

Local, Regional, and National Resources

American Civil Liberties Union of Illinois (ACLU-IL) LGBT Rights: Provides legal advocacy around LGBTQ issues

Joliet Junior College's LGBTQ LibGuide: This guide has topic based tabs (e.g., transgender, bisexuality, military, etc) which include a variety of web-based resources. This is a great resource for getting started researching LGBTQ issues.

Campus Pride: An organization that supports and connects campus LGBTQ groups and advocates.

GLAAD: Works with media outlets to bring visibility to LGBT! individuals and communities, and provides a Media Reference Guide for journalists and major media outlets covering LGBTQ issues.

GLSEN: Provides research and resources to support LGBTQ K-12 students and teachers.

National Center for Transgender Equality: Social justice organization working to end discrimination and violence towards transgender people. Provides overviews of issues and existing laws and policies, as well as providing resources and support.

Additional resources can be found on the LGBTQ Local and Regional Support Organizations page.