Massage Therapy Research Guide
Massage Therapy is the practice of using touch to manipulate the soft-tissue muscles of the body. It is performed for a variety of reasons, including treating painful ailments, decompressing tired and overworked muscles, reducing stress, rehabilitating sports injuries, and promoting general health. Clients often seek massage for its medical benefit and for relaxation purposes, and there is a wide range of massage treatments available. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2010-11 Edition, Massage Therapists, on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/massage-therapists.htm (visited June 16, 2014).
Search the Library Catalog for books by author, title, subject, or keyword. There are a number of subject headings related to massage therapy. Some of the main search terms include: Massage,Massage Therapy, Sports Massage Therapy, Sports Physical Therapy and Sports Therapy. You can also search any of the following keywords to yield results: Acupressure, Alternative Medicine, Human Anatomy, Aromatherapy, Kinesiology, Human Physiology, Reflexology, Swedish Massage, and Thai Yoga Massage.
Books and other materials on same subject are usually found together on the shelves, giving you the opportunity to browse and look in the indexes for your topic. You can find circulating items on the lower level of the Library. Many books about Massage Therapy are in the RM section. You can find journals on the main floor of the Library, just beyond the coffee shop. The Library features the following journals among many in its collection:
- Massage Magazine (print in magazine section)
- Massage Therapy Journal (MTJ) (print in magazine section)
Subject Specific Databases
- CINAHL Fulltext (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete coverage of nursing, allied health and health sciences journals from 1982 - present. This database includes full text access to an electronic version of the Massage & Bodywork journal, from 02/01/2006 to the present.
- Consumer Health Complete Health information intended for non-professionals.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition Full text for 180+ health periodicals, 1100+ health pamphlets, and 20 health reference books, including a medical dictionary.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Nearly 580 scholarly full-text, health and medical journals and 600+ abstracted and indexed journals. Some journals are covered 1966-present.
- Medline Plus (free Internet health database) Authoritative info from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
- Massage Today- An MPA Media Publication. Free print subscriptions of Massage Today are available through this website.
- NCBTMB Code of Ethics
- MedlinePlus - A consumer friendly access to Medline that “...will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.”
- CDC Health topics A-Z - Do A to Z health topics compiled by the eleven centers of the Center for Disease Control.
Healthfinder - Government index to online health resources.
National Center for Health Statistics - Good one stop shopping for health statistics compiled by the CDC (Center for Disease Control) and links to other health statistics resources.
National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health - "The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative health approaches."
American Holistic Health Association - "AHHA (that's ah-ha!) to offer free information about health and wellness resources to help you better cope with an illness or disease, or to enhance your health. AHHA's focus is to help you integrate mind, body and spirit in the process. Resources include offerings in both conventional and alternative medicine."
Professional Associations, Networks, and Organizations
- American Massage Therapy Association
- Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP)
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) - information on Illinois licensing.
- Massage Therapy Foundation
- MassageNet Research Network - Funded by the Massage Therapy Foundation, this research network is designed to help people connect at no cost with massage therapists, massage educators, and massage students around the world.
- National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork(NCBTMB)
- Touch Research Institute (University of Miami)
Spring 2020 LMS