Nursing & Health Professions Research Guide
The purpose of this research guide is to help you with nursing or other health profession related research. Note that there is a separate guide for Massage Therapy Research and a separate guide for Biology Research.
Nursing Test Prep
The library has online and print resources to help you with nursing exams.
- On the Research Tools page, click on All Databases and then click PrepStep: Test Preparation. At the PrepStep database, type “nursing” in the search box to get a list of study resources and practice tests.
- Type “nursing test” OR “nursing exam” in the catalog advanced search to find additional resources.
Research: Print Resources
Search the Library Catalog for books by author, title, subject, or keyword. There are a number of subject headings related to nursing. Some are: nursing, nurses, nurse and patient, health care, and medical care.
Books and other materials on the same subject are often grouped together on the shelves, giving you the opportunity to browse and look in the book indexes for your topic. You can find circulating items on the lower level of the Library. You can find journals (such as American Journal of Nursing) on the main floor of the Library, just beyond the coffee shop.
Research: Subject Specific Databases
- AJN: American Journal of Nursing Covers a wide range of nursing and healthcare topics from 1996 to present (peer reviewed and evidence based).
- CINAHL Fulltext (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete coverage of nursing, allied health, and health sciences journals from 1982 to present.
- Consumer Health Complete Health information intended for non-professionals.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition Full text for 180+ health periodicals, 1100+ health pamphlets, and 20 health reference books, including a medical dictionary.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Nearly 580 scholarly full-text, health, and medical journals and 600+ abstracted and indexed journals. Some journals are covered 1966-present.
- MEDLINE Created by the National Library of Medicine. Includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental, medicine, toxicology, health services, administration, veterinary, medicine, and nursing. From 1966 to present.
- Nursing Education in Video Collection of videos created for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
- PubMed More than 25 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
- PubMed also has instructional videos with information about MeSH (medical subject headings) and using PubMed for research.
Research: Web Resources
- MedlinePlus A consumer friendly site that has information about diseases, health conditions, and wellness on more than 1000 health topics. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
- CDC Health topics A-Z A to Z health topics compiled by the Centers for Disease Control.
- Healthfinder Government index to online health resources.
- National Center for Health Statistics Good one-stop shopping for health statistics compiled by the CDC (Centers for Disease Control) and links to other health statistics resources.
- National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health This government sites has information on complementary and integrative health approaches, which are practices that may be used along with or in place of conventional medicine.
- American Holistic Health Association Information about promoting wellness through both conventional and alternative medicine.
Professional Associations, Networks, and Organizations
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) information on Illinois licensing.
- Illinois Nursing Workforce Center lists professional nursing organizations, financial aid information, educational opportunities, data about nursing, and other resources.
- American Nurses Association Represents the interests of the nation’s 3 million registered nurses. The Resources page has information about financial aid, research grants, careers, and a minority fellowship program.
- American Nurses Association-Illinois
- National League for Nursing An organization for nurse faculty and nursing education.
- Illinois League for Nursing
- American Academy of Nursing Advances health policy and reform of America’s health system.
Fall 2018 LAK