Social Work Research Guide
Search the Library Catalog for books, videos and magazines. There are a number of subject terms related to social work. Some of the main subject terms include: Social Work, Social Service, Social Workers, Social Case Work, Psychiatric Social Work, Medical Social Work, and Counseling. These subjects can be used in combination with other terms like: United States, statistics, children, older people, ethics, biography, etc. For example, to find materials about social work related to children, use "social work" as a term add and "children" as a keyword.
Books and other materials on same subject are usually found together on the shelves, giving you the opportunity to browse and look in the indexes for your topic. Circulating items can be found on the lower level of the Library. Reference books on the topic can found on the main floor in the REF HV section. Here are some featured selections:
- Encyclopedia of Social Work Ebook version
- Statistical Abstract of the United States The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Subject Specific Databases:
- PsycArticles: Contains scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals on: psychology, emotions, mental processes, social relationships, mental disorders, personal development, and behaviors.
- SOC Index: Sociology Index covers topics on culture, society, race, demographics and related fields.
- Streaming Online Counseling and Therapy in Video: Provides a large and rich collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
General Subject Databases:
- Academic Search Complete: Academic, news, popular, and trade publications covering all topics.
- SIRS Researcher: Contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
- Statistics: Statistical Abstract of the United States: The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- World Wide Learn: This website offers a list of different fields in the social work profession and types of programs and certificates that are required for specific settings.
- U.S. Dept. of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Provides general information about the employment possibility in the social work profession. Recent information of available training, earnings, and job outlook can be found here.
- Council on Social Work Education: Offers options to create and post resumes. Information about job post
- Homepage of the Council of Social Work Education: CSWE is an institution granting accreditation for colleges and universities offering social work programs. In order to work in the social work field students need to have a degree from an accredited institution. This website allows locating specific programs to ensure having proper accreditation.
- National Association of Social Workers: This is the biggest social work organization. Offers information about professional development, recent publications, and the mission of the social work profession.
- Official website of the International Federation of Social Work. Offers a global perspective of the profession and presents current issues in different countries.
- Social Work Action Network: Information about different social work organizations can be found on this website.
- NASW Code of Ethics: Can be downloaded and analyzed.
- HelpStartsHere.org: Presents different stories and articles of people who needed help from a social worker. Good source to find out information about social workers, clients, and their lives.
- Mental Health Channel: Provides general information about clinical social work. Describes the causes, symptoms, and treatments for a variety of conditions & health problems social workers might be working with.
- National Organization of Forensic Social Work: Offers information about a forensic social worker. Information about functions, conferences, and news can be found on this website.
- Association of Oncology Social Workers: Provides information on the settings and functions of social workers in the oncology field.
- Social Work News: Social work news can be found on this website. A variety of stories can be searched from different countries which gives a global perspective in the profession.
- Social Work Today: This website offers information about the current issues in specific fields of the social work profession.
Spring 2020 LMS