On this Page

Chat Code

Technology Research Guide

Scope

This research guide was created to support CGI, CSC, IMS, LAN, MIS, and OSA coursework at Moraine Valley and will cover the following general topics:

  • Design and Digital Media Production
  • Database Design and Management
  • MS Productivity Software
  • Networks & Security
  • Programming, Software Engineering, & Systems Design
  • Web Development & Information Architecture


Design & Digital Media Production

This section focuses on the concept of design, media production (video and audio recording and editing), and some of the various software used in MVCC's technology courses and for other classes creating multimedia projects.  You will be able to find links to a number of sources, including software guides, manuals, and how-to videos.  The  list of topics covered here is arranged in alphabetical order below. 

 Also, see our Open License Media for Class Projects Guide if you need open source images and sound for your multimedia projects.

Audacity

Audacity is an open-source sound editing program.  It is often used in-house to create student podcast projects.  While it is available on the computers in the library's Media Lab, you can also download Audacity for free on your PC, Mac, or Linux laptop or desktop computer.

MVCC Audacity Quick Guide

Official Audacity Online Manual


Autodesk

This software includes tools for animation and computer modeling and design.  Some of their products include: AutoCAD, 3DS max, Maya, Inventor, and more.

Resources for Autodesk


Adobe Creative Cloud

This set of software includes a variety of industry-standard production tools for graphic design, photography, and video.  You can find Creative Cloud available on computers (Mac #1, Mac #2, and PC #1) in the Library's Media Lab.

In addition to the books, manuals, and guides listed below by software name, you can a find a number of how-to video tutorials on YouTube.  You can search the site widely or more narrowly, that is, within individual channels (such as the ones listed below), for the the software for which you are seeking out information and/or the task you are trying to accomplish within that software. 

Some helpful and authoritative YouTube channels out there include:

Adobe Creative Cloud

Adobe Professional, Terry White

LinkedIn Learning (lynda.com)

PeachPitTV

Pluralsight Creative

After Effects

Adobe After Effects Online User Guide

Books available at the library

Illustrator

Adobe Illustrator Online User Guide

Books available in the library

InDesign

Adobe InDesign Online User Guide

Books available in the library

Photoshop

Adobe Photoshop Online User Guide

Books available at the library

eBooks available at the library

More ebooks available through Hoopla

Premiere Pro

Adobe Premiere Pro Online User Guide

Books available at the library

Camtasia

Camtasia is a screen recording and video editing tool.  You can find Camtasia available on all of the computers (both PC and Mac) in the library's Media Lab.

Camtasia Help

Camtasia Tutorials

TechSmith YouTube Channel

Books about Camtasia


Design

In this section, you will find resources about the concept of design and its different facets.  Learn about the elements of design and core principals of computer graphics design, human computer interaction, and game design.

eBook: Designing with the Mind in Mind : Simple Guide to Understanding User Interface Design Guidelines

eBook: Multimedia Foundations : Core Concepts for Digital Design

eBook: The Art of Game Design : A Book of Lenses, Second Edition

More resources on game and computer graphic design

Books and ebooks about human computer interaction and user interface design

More ebooks available through Hoopla

https://www.nngroup.com/articles/usability-101-introduction-to-usability/

Digital Photography & Video Editing

eBook: Digital Video Editing Fundamentals

eBooks about digital photography

More ebooks available through Hoopla

Books about digital photography

Streaming videos about digital photography


Database Design and Management

Database management "refers to the actions a business takes to manipulate and control data to meet necessary conditions throughout the entire data life cycle."  Here are some resources to help you learn more about database design, management, and querying via SQL.

eBooks about database management

More ebooks available through Hoopla

Books about database management

Resources for SQL


MS Productivity Software

MS Office and Others

MS Office is a suite of applications designed for business use, mainly consisting of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, Outlook and Publisher.  The Microsoft Office Help and Training Website can be very helpful if you are looking for more details and/or to answer any specific questions you may have about using any of these products.  You can also find solid how-to tutorials on YouTube.

The Library also has some resources for using these applications.  Use the search box below to locate items in our catalog:


More ebooks available through Hoopla


Networks and Security

Network security can be defined as " . . . an organization’s strategy and provisions for ensuring the security of its assets and all network traffic. "  Check out these resources for this topic and the related certification exams:

Resources about network security and hacking

Study guides for CompTIA A+ exam

More ebooks about Networks available through Hoopla


Programming, Software Engineering, & Systems Design 

This area of information systems encompasses a set of related, albeit varied concepts, as well as a number of specific programming languages.  

From from requirements engineering to UML and object-oriented analysis to quality assurance and project management, you can use the search box below to conduct to locate library resources related to your topic:


Programming

More ebooks available through Hoopla

Code Academy, online resource, providing tutorials and hands-on learning--https://www.codecademy.com/

Kahn Academy, offers a set of computer programming courses--https://www.khanacademy.org/

Other sites that offer free online courses or tutorials include: Coursera, MIT Open Courseware, Code.org, and freeCodeCamp.

Also, check out GitHub, a software development tool that acts as a powerful version control system and allows users to share and publish code.

Software Engineering & Systems Design

More ebooks available through Hoopla

PMBOK Guide, 6th edition

Web Development, Design, and Architecture

www.w3schools.com is the quintessential go-to online source for web development and design.  In addition to the information provided on this site, you can practice/test out your coding skills within its space.  Duckett is also an authoritative source for Web Design in HTML/CSS.  For more of a focus on Web application architecture, see Shklar.  Additionally, the library has resources about PHP, JavaScript, JQuery, ASP.NET (Visual Studio), XML, JSON, and more!

Use the search box below to locate related items in our catalog:


Here is a general list of items found in the library catalog

More ebooks about Web Design or Development available through Hoopla

More ebooks about HTML available through Hoopla

More ebooks about CSS available through Hoopla

Resources about user interface design ; for more design resources, see the Design section above

Some sources on the open Web:

Smashing Magazine, an online magazine for Web developers and designers--https://www.smashingmagazine.com/

Nielsen/Norman Group, experts on website usability--https://www.nngroup.com/articles/


--last update 05.20.2019, mmm